USDA reminds Ste. Genevieve County farmers and ranchers to vote in the Ste. Genevieve County Committee Election

STE. GENEVIEVE — The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has started mailing ballots for the Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committee elections to eligible farmers and ranchers across the country. To be counted, ballots must be returned to the Ste. Genevieve County FSA office or postmarked by Dec. 5, 2022.


“FSA county committee members provide valuable knowledge and judgment as decisions are made about the services we provide, including disaster and safety-net programs,” said Stillman, county executive director for Ste. Genevieve County. “Please take a few minutes to review your ballot and make your selection prior to the Dec. 5 deadline.”


Each committee has from three to 11 elected members who serve three-year terms of office, and at least one seat is up for election each year for a certain Local Administrative Area (LAA). Newly elected committee members will take office Jan. 1, 2022. Ste. Genevieve County committee members help FSA make important decisions on its commodity support programs, conservation programs, indemnity and disaster programs, and emergency programs and eligibility.


The nominee up for election in LAA 2, which includes St. Mary, in Ste. Genevieve County is Jordan Ritter.


Ritter is nominated to serve as a committee member for a 3-year term. Ritter resides in St. Mary and has produced crops and livestock for may years.


He is an active member of the Ste. Genevieve County Committee.


Producers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program to be eligible to vote in the county committee election. A cooperating producer is someone who has provided information about their farming or ranching operation but may not have applied or received FSA program benefits. Also, for county committee elections, producers who are not of legal voting age, but supervise and conduct the farming operations of an entire farm, are eligible to vote.


Producers can find out if their LAA is up for election and if they are eligible to vote by contacting their local FSA county office. Eligible voters who do not receive a ballot in the mail can request one from their local FSA county office. Visit for more information.