Historic Preservation Council to consider nominations for National Register July 15

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – The Missouri Advisory Council on Historic Preservation will consider nominations to the National Register of Historic Places during its meeting at 10 a.m. Friday, July 15, in the LaCharrette and Nightingale Conference Rooms at the Lewis and Clark State Office Building, located at 1101 Riverside Drive, Jefferson City.


The following nominations will be considered at the July 15 meeting: 

  • Carter County Courthouse, 105 Main St., Van Buren, Carter County


  • Joplin Broadway East Town Historic District, Bounded by Langston Hughes-Broadway, Landreth Ave., Hill Street and Division Ave., Joplin, Jasper County


  • Boots Motor Court(Route 66 in Missouri, MPDF), 107 S. Garrison Ave., Carthage, Jasper County


  • Baden School( Louis Schools of William B. Ittner, MPDF), 8724 Halls Ferry Road, St. Louis [Independent City]


  • One Bell Center, 909 Chestnut St., St. Louis (Independent City)


  • Sancta Maria Historic District, 320 East Ripa Ave., St. Louis, St. Louis County


  • DeLano School(Historic Resources of the Kansas City Missouri Public School District Pre-1970, MPDF), 3708 E. Linwood Blvd., Kansas City, Jackson County


  • West Bottoms Historic District Boundary Increase(Railroad Related Commercial & Industrial Resources, MPDF), Bounded by St. Louis Ave., Santa Fe Street, W. 14th Street, Liberty Street, North & East Rail Lines Kansas City, Jackson County


  • Maryville Post Office, 509 N. Main St., Maryville, Nodaway County

The Missouri Advisory Council on Historic Preservation is a group of historians, architects, archaeologists and citizens with an interest in historic preservation. The council is appointed by the Governor and works with the Department of Natural Resources’ State Historic Preservation Office, which administers the National Register of Historic Places program for Missouri. The council meets periodically to review Missouri property nominations to the National Register, the nation’s honor roll of historic properties. Approved nominations are forwarded to the Keeper of the National Register in Washington, D.C., for final approval.

More information, including completed applications for each of the nominations, is included online at dnr.mo.gov/commissions-boards-councils/advisory-council-historic-preservation.