CHESTER COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO.139 BOARD OF EDUCATION

Reorganizational Meeting April 28, 2025

The Board of Education of Chester Community Unit School District No. 139 held a Reorganizational Meeting on April 28, 2025, in the High School Juergens Gym. President Debi Caraway called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

Public Comment

None

Fricke motioned, Coffee seconded to approve the consent agenda. Roll call vote. Ayes: Caraway, Coffey, Fricke, Wolff, Krieg, Coffey, Malley Nays: none. Motion carried.

Malley motioned, Krieg seconded to approve Allison Arevalo as Special Education Teacher for the 2025-26 school year pending successful completion of all employment requirements, including a criminal background check and EHR. Roll call vote. Ayes: Caraway, Coffey, Fricke, Wolff, Krieg, Coffey, Malley Nays: none. Motion carried.

Davitz motioned, Malley seconded to approve Grace Teoxon as Special Education Teacher for the 2025-26 school year pending successful completion of all employment requirements, including a criminal background check and EHR. Roll call vote. Ayes: Caraway, Coffey, Fricke, Wolff, Krieg, Coffey, Malley Nays: none. Motion carried.

Fricke motioned, Malley seconded to approve Claire Evangelista as Special Education Teacher for the 2025-26 school year pending successful completion of all employment requirements, including a criminal background check and EHR. Roll call vote. Ayes: Caraway, Coffey, Fricke, Wolff, Krieg, Coffey, Malley Nays: none. Motion carried.

Davitz motioned, Krieg seconded to approve the Resolution abating the taxes heretofore levied for the year 2024 to pay debt service on the District's Taxable General Obligation Refunding School Bonds (Alternate Revenue Source), Series 2022C. Roll call vote. Ayes: Caraway, Coffey, Fricke, Wolff, Krieg, Coffey, Malley Nays: none. Motion carried.

Wolff motioned, Coffey seconded to approve Certificate of Payment for Samron Midwest Contracting, Inc's Pay Application #2 in the amount of \$874,234.90. Roll call vote. Ayes: Caraway, Coffey, Fricke, Wolff, Krieg, Coffey, Malley Nays: none. Motion carried.

Malley motioned, Coffey seconded to Accept and Approve the April 1, 2025, Election Results as submitted by the County Clerk. Upon roll call, all members voted aye. Motion carried.

Installation of New Board Member, Chad Ebers taking the Oath of Office

Kimberly Briggs, Superintendent, recognized retiring board member, Nikki Malley

Wolff motioned, Davitz seconded to adjourn Current School Board *sine die.* Upon roll call, all members voted aye. Motion carried.

Wolff motioned, Krieg seconded for the Appointment of Superintendent, Kimberly Briggs as President pro tem. Upon roll call, all members voted aye. Motion carried.

As President pro tem, Superintendent Briggs, called the new school board to order. Members present: Debi Caraway, Matt Davitz, Charles Fricke, James Krieg, Barb Coffey, Shannon Wolff, Chad Ebers.

Superintendent Briggs opened the floor for nominations for the office of president. Davitz nominated Debi Caraway, Wolff seconded. Hearing no further nominations, the nominations for the office of president closed. Debi Caraway

being the only candidate nominated for the office of president, the chair hereby declared her elected by acclamation and directed the recording secretary to so record in the minutes.

Superintendent Briggs opened the floor for nominations for the office of vice-president. Caraway nominated Matt Davitz, Fricke seconded. Hearing no further nominations, the nominations for the office of vice-president closed. Matt Davitz being the only candidate nominated for the office of vice-president, the chair hereby declared him elected by acclamation and directed the recording secretary to so record in the minutes.

Superintendent Briggs opened the floor for nominations for the office of secretary. Wolff nominated Charles Fricke, Caraway seconded. Hearing no further nominations, the nominations for the office of secretary closed. Charles Fricke, being the only candidate nominated for the office of secretary, the chair hereby declared him elected by acclamation and directed the recording secretary to so record in the minutes.

| Member of the Board of Education | Term Expires |
|----------------------------------|--------------|
| Debi Caraway, President | 2027 |
| Matt Davitz, Vice-President | 2029 |
| Charles Fricke, Secretary | 2027 |
| James Krieg | 2027 |
| Barb Coffey | 2027 |
| Shannon Wolff | 2029 |
| Chad Ebers | 2029 |

Wolff motioned, Coffee seconded to approve the appointment of board committees as listed. Upon roll call, all members voted aye. Motion carried.

| Building & Grounds | Finance / Negotiations | <u>Transportation</u> |
|--------------------------|-------------------------|------------------------|
| Shannon Wolff | Matt Davitz | Dr. James Krieg |
| Chad Ebers | Charles Fricke | Debi Caraway |
| Debi Caraway (alternate) | Barb Coffey (alternate) | Chad Ebers (alternate) |

Caraway motioned, Davitz seconded to adjourn the Reorganizational meeting at 8:00 p.m. Upon roll call, all members voted aye. Motion carried.

The next REGULAR MEETING of the Board of Education will be held Thursday, **May 15**, **2025** at **7:30** p.m. (Executive Session at 6:00 p.m.) in the Chester Community High School Juergens Gym located at 1901 Swanwick Street, Chester, IL 62233.